Fun with Assembly

The war between wetware and hardware.
Pyrrho
Title: Man in Black

Fun with Assembly

Post by Pyrrho » Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:31 pm

Way beyond me but here's the link, you bastards.

https://dev.to/miniharryc/a-little-fun- ... sembly-6dm
The flash of light you saw in the sky was not a UFO. Swamp gas from a weather balloon was trapped in a thermal pocket and reflected the light from Venus.

Rob Lister
Title: Incipient toppler

Re: Fun with Assembly

Post by Rob Lister » Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:50 pm

8088 assembly was the second language I learned. I never learned it well. I did a few experimental things with it but it is far to tedious.

xouper

Post by xouper » Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:52 am

Pyrrho wrote:Way beyond me but here's the link, you bastards.

https://dev.to/miniharryc/a-little-fun- ... sembly-6dm
Cute.

As a professional programmer, I got lots of stories about fun with assembly language programming.

Example: How I found a compiler bug by looking at the hex code. It was an Intel compiler that translated PL/M into 80286 assembler. According to my boss, that little trick earned me six months pay in less than an hour. (Details on request.)

Mentat

Post by Mentat » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:43 am

Rob Lister wrote:8088 assembly was the second language I learned. I never learned it well. I did a few experimental things with it but it is far to tedious.
I took a class in 8086 assembly. Great class, terrific teacher, but I am never touching that shit again. That way lies madness. The class was half coding, half studying things not to do when designing an architecture, and why intel did those things anyways.
It's "pea-can", man.

Lapis Sells . . . But Who's Buying?

xouper

Post by xouper » Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:03 am

Mentat wrote:I took a class in 8086 assembly. Great class, terrific teacher, but I am never touching that shit again.